Britta Brügger was awarded a BMBF grant for global and spatial lipidomics as part of the LINC programme with researchers from Münster, Essen, Heidelberg and Leipzig


Effective July 1, 2022, Christian Freund has taken over the role as chair of SFB/TRR 186. After six years being the chair of TRR 186, Walter Nickel will continue to serve as vice chair. Together with the TRR 186 steering committee, a key aspect of the next 12 months will be to develop the application for a third funding period of the research consortium.

Joachim Moser von Filseck

Effective January 1, 2022, Joachim Moser von Filseck has been named an associated member of SFB/TRR 186.  Joachim is a new DFG Emmy Noether junior group leader at Heidelberg University Biochemistry Center and will contribute a project to the consortium’s application for a third funding period of TRR 186.

Francesca Bottanelli

Francesca Bottanelli, a junior professor at the Institute of Chemistry and Biochemistry at Freie Universität Berlin, has been awarded a prestigious Early Career Grant through the Human Frontier Science Program (HFSP). The Human Frontier Science Program is an international research funding program organized by the International Human Frontier Science Program Organization (HFSPO) based in Strasbourg, France. Its aim is to promote intercontinental cooperation and training in top interdisciplinary research with a focus on the life sciences.


For her contributions to the field of sphingolipid biology, Doris Höglinger received the inaugural Lina Obeid Junior Investigator Award at the International Ceramide Conference. This award was created to remember the legacy of Dr. Lina Obeid, a pioneering force in the field of sphingolipid signaling and a fierce advocate of women in science.


CRC/TRR 186 successful in bid for second funding period

The DFG has granted a second funding period for the CRC/TRR 186.

Prof. Dr. Christian Rosenmund

In recognition of his scientific achievements studying the the molecular mechanisms underlying synaptic transmission of central synapses, Prof. Dr. Christian Rosenmund was elected as a member of the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina in May 2019. He has thus received one of the highest scientific honors awarded by a German institution.


Mucosal immunologist and virologist Steeve Boulant has been awarded the prestigious Heisenberg fellowship of the DFG. He will continue his work on human gut inflammation and regulation of host/pathogen interaction in polarized epithelial cells at the University Hospital Heidelberg in the department of Infectious diseases.

Steeve Boulant was recruited by Heidelberg via the Chica and Heinz Schaller foundation (CHS foundation) in February 2012 from Harvard Medical School, USA.

New PhD Board

We are happy to announce that the newly elected members of the PhD Student Board resumed their work on May 1, 2019:


Bojana Pavlovic (Boutros Lab, MedFak Heidelberg)

Vera Magg (Ruggieri Lab, MedFak Heidelberg)

Christian Gabriel (Kramer Lab, Charité Berlin)

Friederike Kohrs (Hiesinger Lab, FU Berlin)


We wish them an efficient tenure and look forward to future events of the board.


We would also like to take the opportunity to express our sincere thanks to the previous PhD Student Board, Dr. Sina Barysch (Melchior Lab at ZMBH), Gülce Gülcüler (Martin-Villalba Lab at DKFZ), Eliot Morisson (Freund Lab at FU berlin) and Tim Hempel (Noé/Plattner Lab at FU Berlin). They represented the PhD students of the TRR186 from November 2016 to April 2019 and successfully organized two PhD/Postdoc meetings in Berlin and Heidelberg.